Thursday, January 8, 2009

I drove for the first time!!




Hey there! Sorry yesterday's post was so short, but we were tired. But here are the details that I wanted to add to yesterdays post.

For lunch we went to a little place down the road called The Rose and Crown. It was fairly early to serve lunch for the English. I think we arrived around 11:45am. We went to a few places before we ended up here because they weren't serving lunch until 12:00 or 1:00. Us Americans like to eat lunch early I guess. But I think it has something to do with how we like to get to work early and leave early. We ordered at the bar. I had the chili jacket potato (baked potato) and Ken had the club sandwich. I wanted to sit by the fire, so I grabbed us a table in the back on the other side of the double sided fire place and awaited our food. I got the jacket potato because my mouth was still hurting from the dental work that I had done the day before and I wanted something warm. When the food came, it was beautiful! It was a fancy jacket potato with a salad on the side. Ken's club sandwich was a monster and it had Arby's style seasoned curly fries! They were really good. He also had a half pint of the draft Strongbow ( hard cider). Strongbow is definitely our favorite cider. It has more of the apple flavor than some of the others so you actually feel like you are drinking hard cider.

We made our first trip to TESCO after lunch just to get a few things and to see what all they had and guess what! We found a section with mexican stuff!!! It is all Old El Paso, but hey...they have it so now with the taco seasoning that Kim and Chris gave us for Christmas, we can make mexican at home!! We also found their version of Frosted Mini Wheats. So Bob, when you come over we will have some. We also wanted to take a picture of how they do not refrigerate their eggs. I guess they don't because they are so fresh? If anyone knows the answer, please comment. I am still kinda scared to buy them and it would make me feel better if I knew why.

Oh...and today after work I drove back to the hotel. Now mind you, there was only two turns. But I braved the road and did it! I will elaborate when I get more experience under my belt. We are off to dinner! Talk to you soon! Cheerio!

1 comment:

Lane said...

Haha-I just read your post about the eggs. I actually did ask that question while I was there because it weirded me out. The answer I got was, "Well, they don't come out of the chicken cold. So why would we mess with nature?" Still a little sketchy to me, but please let me know if you come up with a better answer!